42 Cars cleared to start

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

42 cars cleared to participate in the 64th KCB Safari Rally

A total of 42 cars have been cleared to participate in the 64th KCB Safari Rally which revs-off from KICC grounds tomorrow.

The event, co-sponsored by Jacaranda Hotels, Toyota Kenya, Red Bull and Liquid Telecom, will be flagged-off at 10am after which rally cars will head straight to Jamhuri Park for a 2.2km super special at the autocross track.

After Jamhuri spectator stage, crews will embark on a 130km of transport road section through to Lake Elementaita Lodge for the overnight perc ferme.

Lake Elementaita Lodge will also host Day 2 and 3 spectator stage, Rally Headquarters, Perc Ferme and Service Park.

Defending Safari and KNRC Champion Jaspreet Chatthe will be the first one off the ramp tomorrow followed by Ian Duncan, Carl Tundo and Rajbir Rai.

The eight leg Kenya National Rally Championship continues to attract state-of-the-art machinery with several top drivers relishing upgrades to R4 and R5 cars.

Kabras Sugar Racing team of Baldev Chager, Onkar Rai and Tejveer Rau have since upgraded from Group N to R4 Evolution 10s which were flown in last week.

Quentin Mitchell (Skoda Fabia) and Nikhil Sachania (Fiat Grande Punto) are the only drivers in the event driving S2000 cars.

This year's event will feature one R5 car which be driven by Rajbir Rai who is son of legendary two times Kenya champion Sarbi Rai.

KNRC Standings after Kisumu Rally :-(Overall): 
1. Baldev Chager 37
2. Manvir Baryan 33
3. Rajbir Rai 29
4. Tapio Laukkanen 27
5. Ian Duncan 21
6. Jassi Chatthe 20
7. Onkar Rai 18
8. Carl Tundo 15
9. Karan Patel 12
10. Izhar Mirza 10

KNRC Navigators: 
1. Ravi Soni 43
2. Gareth Dawe 27
3. Amar Slatch 25
4. Gugu Panesar 23
5. Tim Jessop 21.

KNRC Division One; 
1. Onkar Rai 46
2. Izhar Mirza 36
3. Jasmeet Chana 31
4. Frank Tundo 25
5. Jansher Sandhu 24.

KNRC Division Two: 
1. Eric Bengi 27
2. Jonathan Somen 25
3. Mahesh Halai 21.

KNRC Division Three: 
1. Chandrakant Devji 43
2. Natasha Tundo 33
3. Leonardo Varese 28.

KNRC Group N: 
1. Baldev Chager 46
2. Onkar Rai 33
3. Ian Duncan 25
4. Izhar Mirza 24
5. Karan Patel 21.

© 2017 Web Host Africa Ltd. All Rights Reserved.